Starting today, Arizona motorists traveling with a child between the ages of 5 and 7, and shorter than 4 feet 9inches tall are required to seat them in a child-restraint system, typically a booster seat.A booster seat is not fastened or tied down. It does not require any special installation. Parents simply place the seat in the back, a child sits on it, then buckles in. The booster raises the child up to a height that makes the seat belt more effective. This updated law makes not using a booster seat a primary offense. That means you can be pulled over just for violating this statute. It carries a fine of $50.
From the Arizona Governor's Office of Highway Safety:
Key Provisions of HB2154 include:·
*Requires the operator of a motor vehicle to require each passenger who is at least five years of age, but under eight years of age, and who is not more than four feet nine inches tall to be restrained in a child restraint system.
*Requires a law enforcement office who stops a vehicle in apparent violation of this section to determine from the drive the age and height of the child in the vehicle and to assess whether the child in the vehicle should be in a child restraint system.
*Defines child restraint system as an add-on child restraint system, a built in child restraint system, a factory-installed built in child restraint system, a rear facing child restraint system or a booster seat as defined in federal regulations.
*Specifies that this section does not apply to a person who operates an authorized emergency vehicle that is transporting a child for medical care.
(story from AZFamily.com)